Sunrun and Tesla VPP: What the 580 MW California Dispatch Actually Shows

Virtual power plants are moving beyond small pilot programs.

On September 21, 2026, Sunrun and Tesla announced that more than 140,000 home batteries had supplied more than 580 MW of peak power to California’s grid during a heat wave on September 9.

The batteries were dispatched for a three-hour evening period when electricity demand and wholesale prices were elevated. Of the 580 MW of coordinated capacity, 517 MW came from Tesla Powerwalls, while another 63 MW came from other battery systems. About 110,000 Powerwalls participated, and Sunrun said it owned and operated 55% of those systems. Sunrun also dispatched more than 30,000 customer batteries from other manufacturers.

The event matters because it shows that residential batteries can now be aggregated at a scale normally associated with utility-scale generation and grid resources.

But 580 MW of dispatch capacity does not automatically mean 580 MW of new generation, 580 MW of revenue, or a profitable VPP business.

Those are separate questions.

Why a 580 MW Virtual Power Plant Matters to the Grid

A virtual power plant does not require thousands of batteries to be physically located at one generating station.

Instead, software coordinates distributed resources installed in homes and businesses and operates them as a single grid resource.

During the September event, Sunrun and Tesla used batteries already installed across California to discharge stored electricity during a period of grid stress.

The dispatch operated through two existing California programs: the California Energy Commission’s Demand Side Grid Support program, or DSGS, and the Emergency Load Reduction Program, or ELRP. The DSGS event was triggered when the day-ahead locational marginal price exceeded $200/MWh, while PG&E called the ELRP event for participating batteries within its service territory.

From an electrical-system perspective, that is the important part.

The batteries were not simply providing backup power to individual homes. Thousands of separate residential systems were coordinated to act as a dispatchable grid resource at a specific time.

There is also an important technical distinction: 580 MW describes power capacity, not total energy delivered.

Although the event lasted three hours, the companies disclosed peak dispatch power rather than total MWh delivered. It would therefore be misleading to assume the systems continuously delivered 580 MW for the entire three-hour period.

Sunrun and Tesla Are Connected to the Project in Different Ways

Both Sunrun and Tesla are publicly traded companies directly involved in the event, but their business exposure is different.

Tesla supplied most of the battery technology used during the dispatch. Its Powerwalls accounted for 517 MW of the 580 MW coordinated capacity.

Sunrun’s connection is more closely tied to operating distributed residential energy assets. More than half of the participating Powerwalls were owned and operated by Sunrun, according to the companies, while Sunrun also controlled tens of thousands of batteries produced by other manufacturers.

That distinction matters when looking at VPP development.

Tesla can benefit from selling and operating Powerwall systems, while Sunrun’s residential solar-and-storage model gives it a direct role in aggregating customer assets and providing grid services.

Neither connection, however, tells us how profitable the September dispatch was. The companies did not disclose revenue or profit generated specifically by the 580 MW event.

The 580 MW dispatch proves operating scale. It does not prove profitability.

As an eBay Partner, I may be compensated if you make a purchase.

The Next Step: From Statewide Dispatch to Local Grid Capacity

The California event is also connected to a broader effort involving Sunrun, Tesla and Renew Home.

In June 2026, the three companies announced a framework intended to make more than 16.8 GW of flexible distributed energy capacity available to utilities and large electricity users, including data centers. The proposed resource combines home batteries, smart thermostats and other controllable devices.

A more concrete example arrived in September.

PG&E, Google and several energy companies launched the SHARE — Smart Home Assets for Reliability and Efficiency — VPP program in California’s Bay Area.

PG&E said Tesla, Sunrun and Renew Home would work to enroll nearly 21,000 existing flexible energy devices. The project is expected to unlock about 12 MW of local capacity, with grid support potentially beginning in fall 2026.

This is smaller than the 580 MW statewide dispatch, but it may be important for a different reason.

Instead of responding only to a statewide peak-demand event, distributed resources can potentially be placed where specific sections of the transmission or distribution system are constrained.

That could become increasingly relevant as data centers, EV charging and building electrification create large new electrical loads in specific locations.

What the Price Chart Shows—and What It Cannot Tell Us

Sunrun shares closed at $8.79 on September 21, up 3.05% for the day, on approximately 8.17 million shares of volume. Tesla also gained about 3.03%, closing at $375.30, with roughly 36.6 million shares traded.

Those increases should not automatically be attributed to the VPP announcement. The broader market was also strong that day: the S&P 500 rose 1.49% and the Nasdaq Composite gained about 2.26%. Trading volume in RUN and TSLA also did not show an obvious announcement-day surge compared with the previous session.

The initial gains did not persist. By September 29, Sunrun closed at $7.72, roughly 12% below its September 21 close, while Tesla closed at $352.84, approximately 6% lower than its announcement-day close.

The chart therefore shows that both stocks rose on the announcement day and later gave back those gains. It does not establish that investors were responding specifically to the VPP news, nor does the subsequent decline tell us whether the VPP business itself is succeeding.

Business Reality: 580 MW Is Not 580 MW of Revenue

A residential VPP can create value in several ways.

Utilities may pay aggregators or participating customers for capacity, demand response or energy delivered during grid events. Avoided infrastructure investment and lower peak wholesale prices can also create system-level benefits.

But the technical size of a VPP cannot be converted directly into company revenue.

Sunrun and Tesla have not disclosed the revenue, margin or customer-level economics generated by this specific 580 MW dispatch.

The same caution applies to the proposed 16.8 GW distributed-resource framework.

Available flexible capacity is not the same thing as contracted capacity, and contracted capacity is not the same thing as profitable recurring revenue.

That gap is where future results become important.

What to Watch Next

The useful indicators are whether the PG&E SHARE project actually begins operating as planned, whether enrolled MW and participating devices expand, whether similar programs appear outside California, and whether Sunrun, Tesla or their utility partners begin disclosing meaningful VPP revenue, margins or recurring grid-services payments.

For the broader VPP market, repeated dispatch events may matter more than a single record.

A 580 MW event demonstrates that residential batteries can already operate at meaningful grid scale. The next stage is determining whether that technical capability becomes a repeatable commercial business for utilities, customers and the companies coordinating those assets.


Sources & Official References

Sunrun — Sunrun and Tesla Dispatch 580 Megawatts to California’s Grid During Heat Wave, September 21, 2026. Sunrun official announcement

PG&E — PG&E, Rewiring America and Google Launch First-of-its-Kind Virtual Power Plant, September 3, 2026. PG&E official announcement

Sunrun — Sunrun, Renew Home, and Tesla Team Up to Deliver More Than 16 Gigawatts of Fast, Flexible Power, June 24, 2026. Sunrun 16.8 GW announcement

Tesla — Virtual Power Plant With DSGS. Tesla VPP program information

Market data used for the announcement-day comparison came from historical RUN, TSLA and U.S. index data.

As an eBay Partner, I may be compensated if you make a purchase.

About the author

I have practical experience in electrical construction and electrical project coordination in South Korea. For U.S.-focused guides, I research official codes, government data, utility documents, and manufacturer specifications to explain electrical and energy topics as accurately and practically as possible.

Is there something you’d like to see?

Suggest an electrical topic, practical guide, or calculator you would like to see on JHOTAS-LAB. Your suggestion may help shape future content.